Booker Prize 2022 longlist of 13 writers announced – Times of India

The Booker Prize 2022 longlist was finally released on July 26, featuring its youngest and oldest-ever authors along with debut novels and the shortest book to be nominated for the prize.

Of the 13 books longlisted, three are debut novels – ‘After Sappho’ by Selby Wynn Schwartz, ‘Nightcrawling’ by Leila Mottley, and ‘Maps of our Spectacular Bodies’ by Maddie Mortimer. At 20 years old, Leila Mottley is now the youngest-ever author to be longlisted, while Alan Garner, 87, is the oldest. At 116 pages, Claire Keegan’s ‘Small Things Like These’ is the shortest book to ever appear on the longlist.

The Booker jurors this year are cultural historian and writer Neil MacGregor, academic and broadcaster Shahidha Bari, historian Helen Castor, author and critic M John Harrison, and novelist and poet Alain Mabanckou. The judges read a total of 169 submissions.

“Exceptionally well written and carefully crafted, in whatever genre, they seem to us to exploit and expand what the language can do,” Neil MacGregor, chair of the Booker Prize 2022 judges, said in a statement.

Here’s a look at the Booker Prize 2022 longlist:

‘Glory’ by NoViolet Bulawayo

‘Trust’ by Hernan Diaz

‘The Trees’ by Percival Everett
‘Booth by Karen’ Joy Fowler

‘Treacle Walker’ by Alan Garner

‘The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida’ by Shahan Karunatilaka

‘Small Things Like These’ by Claire Keegan

‘Case Study’ by Graeme Macrae Burnet

‘The Colony’ by Audrey Magee

‘Maps of Our Spectacular Bodies’ by Maddie Mortimer

‘Nightcrawling’ by Leila Mottley

‘After Sappho’ by Selby Lynn Schwartz

‘Oh William!’ by Elizabeth Strout

Meanwhile, for the unacquainted, the Booker Prize for Fiction is not to be confused with the International Booker Prize, which is focused on translation. The winner of this, the primary award in the Booker Foundation’s work, receives £50,000. Each of the six authors eventually shortlisted is to receive £2,500 and a specially bound edition of her or his book.

Finally, the shortlist of six books will be announced on September 6 and the winner will be announced on October 17.

Source link

The Press Walla

The Press Walla is the India's fastest growing youth online magazine which covers all latest trending stories from entrepreneurship, business, entertainment etc

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button